Big Chop #2 and Color Update

♥Hello Luvs!! I know you guys haven’t heard from me since the summer due to life getting in the way and my computer being in the shop for repair it has been extremely hard to keep my blog active. Although i still do not have a good camera to really show off my hairstyles and all that good stuff, i will still try my best to blog as often as i can!

MY SECOND BIG CHOP:

During the spring of 2014 my hair suffered from neglect,stress and lack of care for the most part. I wasn’t moisturizing daily,prepping my hair for bed,applying my special treatments or covering it nightly and to make it worse i was always keeping it covered with a wig,scarf or bonnet when i went out and around the house (terrible i know smh). Somehow life & motherhood took a hold  and i could no longer fit me in the mix!

During the summer i did a light blowout & length check and it grew longer but when i took a closer look at the pictures i noticed that my ends were very thin and dried out (I don’t think it was heat damage because before this light blowout i haven’t used heat in almost a year)…. –>

 

Summer 2014 Blowout & Length Check

 

mygrowthjourney

Yup pretty great progress until i looked closer 😦 –>  JUNE2014_lengthcheck (3) JUNE2014_lengthcheck (2)

Sad to say but even though i seen this with my own two eyes the neglect and some bad habits still continued throughout the whole summer,mostly because i wanted to hold on to my length i had achieved but i had to get real with myself because my hair looked and felt exactly how i was feeling inside and i knew for a fact that i needed to get back on track and SOON not just with my hair but with myself entirely!

Since fall was arriving i had enough and decided to give myself a trim which lead to basically a second big chop…..yea i said it… Big chop #2! I wanted a fresh start and to get rid of all or atleast most of the damaged ends soooo i grabbed my shears and went to town 😛 –>

Big Chop #2

 

It felt so good to just start over and although i didn’t cut it as short as i did when i first BC’d it was still a huge difference from how long it was before. At the end of the day i realized and reminded myself that its just hair and most of all its MY hair and this journey is mines alone so why not?!

 

MY NEW HAIR COLOR:

It doesn’t end there, since it was a journey to a fresh start and new me i figured “hey why not get my hair colored?”….. and i went for it! Thanks to the amazing staff at this well known salon here in Cleveland,Ohio called ‘So Curly,So Kinky,So Straight’, the color came out exactly how i wanted it so there is no regrets.

SALON’s LINKS BELOW:

Official Website- http://www.socurlysokinkysostraight.com/

Official FB Page- https://www.facebook.com/SoCurlySoKinkySoStraightTheSalon

 

My choice was not to get a full head color treatment. I wanted a ombre effect by keeping the roots my dark natural color and just coloring my ends a lighter auburn-brownish hue, mostly because i do plan to get my starter locs sometime after the new year and i thought that would look so cute on them as they grow out –>

sept 2014- big chop & color

New Hair Color & BC

 

What are the pros & cons of coloring my hair?

Well as of right now being a ‘colored naturalista’ for only going on 3 months now the only con i can say is that i’m struggling with dryness and still figuring out what products work and what doesn’t especially when it comes to my 4c kinky coarse hair type. I’ve noticed that since coloring my hair it has become fragile and sensitive so i must treat it with even more care especially now so neglect is not an option or it will be in worse shape than it was before.

This is a new journey for me and my hair so i’m taking it one day at a time but i promise i will keep you guys posted and updated as much as i can so until next time feel free to comment below with any feedback,advice,questions and/or concerns!!!

About MrsElegantlyNatural

Adventures Of Living Relaxer Free While Loving Me! ☆Natural Hair Lover ☆SkinCare,Beauty & Fashion Explorer ☆FitMOM ☆Eczema and PCOS Fighter✊

Posted on December 28, 2014, in ABOUT ME, My Hair, Natural Hair, NATURAL HAIR CARE and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Life is tough girl, so that will happen, Congratulations on your BC, looking great!!!! With all you have to do, you are to be commended, never give up!
    Smiles!!!

Leave a Comment

